NANOWRIMO 2014. YOU Can Do It.

November 1st will be here soon and with it comes another month of NANOWRIMO – the National Novel Writer’s Month, where the goal is to crank out 50,000 words in the 30 days of November.

I did NANOWRIMO in 2010  – keeping up with the writing goals, working 50+ hours a week and dealing with the fallout from being an absentee in my own family.  It nearly killed me.   I have not done it since and I’m blowing it off again, this year.  

There is value in an exercise like Nanowrimo, and for me, I got to see what it is  like to HAVE to write, even when I didn’t feel like it and was stuck.  It’s not what I need at this point in my journey.  If you are doing Nanowrimo in November, I wish you the very best.  Go into it with the support of your spouse and friends. Have an outline.  Do not be tempted to go back and edit during November.  If you really dedicate yourself to the challenge, you will have the first draft of your novel on December 1st, and that is pretty impressive. 

Enjoy.  Enjoy the horror of it all.  The horror.

There are tons of cute, motivational images for NaNoWriMo, then there are these:

nanowrimo_2_w

nanowrimoisajoke

One thought on “NANOWRIMO 2014. YOU Can Do It.

  1. If I were to do NaNoWriMo, I’d have to so it in secret in case I gave up after the first few days and I guess that is not really the attitude to go in with. I do love the idea of having a first draft of a novel after a month, though…so who knows, perhaps one of these years.

You were saying?

