Tabletop Audio – FREE Ambient sounds and music for Writers

Do you listen to music when you write? 

I have, selecting music that captures the atmosphere of the piece I am writing.  This helps me get my head in the right place to work on… whatever. 

One thing I have noticed is that most music demands my attention.  This is particularly true when the lyrics are interesting, but even when listening to classical music or music without vocals, I find myself paying more attention to the music than to what I am working on.  Overall, I conquer one challenge (getting into the vibe of what I am writing), but create another (paying attention to the story I am working on).

TTAudio

Enter TABLETOP AUDIO (tabletopaudio.com)

I’ve started listening to soundscape or ambient music  – providing the background sound to fit the theme while letting my consciousness focus on the story.  Some of the best soundscapes I have found are on Tabletopaudio.com.  There are various atmospheric audio pieces  in 10-minute cuts that can be looped endlessly in your MP3 player of choice, or even directly from the web site.  All music/sound on this site is free to access or download,  licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivatives 4.0 International License. Creative Commons License

The individual pieces are categorized as: 

Ambience: Implies background noises, sound design elements, something to put you in ‘the place’.

Minimal music: Is usually simple tones and musical elements that have been added to increase the effect of whatever I was going for.

Music: is just that, a few of the pieces are either straight up music, or have a larger musical element.

They can also be sorted by theme: Fantasy, Scifi, Historical, Modern, Nature, Horror, and Music.

All are excellently produced and many of these sound as if they could be used in movie soundtracks.  Note that this is not music to listen to.  As the site explains, “If you gathered your friends over to listen to music, put some on! This is background audio, designed to be played quietly in the…wait for it…background! You can also play many of these in conjunction with the music of your choice.”

ttaudio2

I could describe the pieces and which ones I like or I have benefited from using, but just go check it out for yourself.  I think you will be impressed.  You can download any pieces for free in MP3, or just listen to them on the site, and if you do enjoy it or find it helpful, consider making a donation.

One thought on “Tabletop Audio – FREE Ambient sounds and music for Writers

You were saying?

