Unplugged From Social Media Update: Day 65 – The Guilt

On May 3, I decided to go three months without Facebook, Twitter, Pintrist, Reddit or Goodreads  to see if removing these obvious distractions from my routine helps me focus and be more productive.  Here’s how it’s gone so far.

Guilt.

Where would we be without guilt? 

Happy, I know.  I meant it as a rhetorical question, so shut-up.

For the last two months, I’ve been deleting e-mail from Facebook and  Twitter, telling me how many pokes, invites, posts, updates, etc. are waiting.  My Windows Phone tells me how many friend updates to Facebook have happened each day and it is usually over 200.

I’m not checking those, and that makes me feel guilty. 

Now, I know that over 50% are solicitations to things I never respond to – repost something “if you love your mother” (as if I don’t love my mother if I don’t repost a overly sentimental paragraph on Facebook), or invites to events I will never go to, or  just pictures of someone’s food.  Sometimes they are posts in Hindi from a friend in India, so I can’t read it anyway.

Of the remaining 50%, 25% are intended for groups I am a member of but not active in.  15% are from friends and not something I will respond to, but enjoy seeing.  The last 10% are things I would respond to or be an active participant in.

Ands in doing that little exercise, I realize that – of that load of stuff I am not looking at right now, because of the hiatus – over 75% is stuff I don’t really care about seeing.  That makes me feel better, but I do feel bad about that 10-25% I am missing out on.

Less than a month to go until my 3-month hiatus is done, and I am head down into my work.  It will fly by. 

An now, the Unplugged Memes of the Week:

unplugged-laughing at post

unplugged-for serious

unplugged-treatplease

3 thoughts on “Unplugged From Social Media Update: Day 65 – The Guilt

  1. Pingback: Unplugged From Social Media Update: Day 72 – Don’t stop pedaling | Lifein64SquareFeet.com - A Writer's Survival Blog

  2. Pingback: Unplugged From Social Media Update: Day 79–Meh. | Lifein64SquareFeet.com - A Writer's Survival Blog

  3. Pingback: Unplugged From Social Media Update: Day 90 – Not Anymore. I’m Back! | Lifein64SquareFeet.com - A Writer's Survival Blog

You were saying?

