Unplugging from the Internet (sort of) – Week One

Friday, 5\10\13 and it’s been exactly one week since I quit Facebook, Twitter, Reddit, Pintrist and Goodreads, with the hope that I could focus more of my personal time on writing.  I committed to this social media fast for three months.  After that, I’ll evaluate the results, pros and cons and decide how I will proceed.

My leaving didn’t crash Facebook’s stock – I’m sure it had a negative impact, though. My not being there to post witticisms certainly had to decrease the social media giant’s popularity. I do have like, 200 followers or something, after all. Winking smile

GrumpyCat-regret

As for the quality and productivity of my personal time – it’s weird. Yes, I have been somewhat more productive, but that’s because I’m focusing on being productive – making myself write and edit. I’m not sure that has anything to do with laying off specific sites that I allow to distract me. On the other hand, I miss the online interactions and encouragement with friends, particularly from the Splinter4All bunch, who are pretty active on FB.

Maybe a year ago, I quit messing around other critiquing sites except for Splinter4all.com. I felt like I didn’t have enough time to adequately read and crit\write and post – the trade-off that makes a writer’s critiquing forum work – on more than one site, and this is the one I decided to keep. I do manage around to other sites, but have little presence.

The thing about Splinter4All is – right now, the participation on the fiction and non-fiction forums is slow. The poetry forums are going great guns, but I don’t know enough about poetry to crit effectively. I say stuff like, I liked it. The words were pretty.

So I’m hoping to see the fiction\nonfiction sections pick up. I guess, if nothing else, I’ll be posting some stuff.  If not, I may pick up on The Cult or Critique Circle, again.

Anyway, it’s only a week in. I’m still applying the readability edits to Find my Baby. I’m going to redraft the first chapter, because feedback was that it didn’t really grab anyone and was too heavy on the technical stuff. Then I’ll be turning it over to my editor for a proper line edit, which is always ego-deflating, but a great learning opportunity, as the mistakes I missed on three or more passes are made evident to me.

I could go on, like the Boring Prophet in Monty Python’s Life of Brian, but I won’t.  You are welcome.

There shall in that time be rumors of things going astray, erm, and there shall be a great confusion as to where things really are, and nobody will really know where lieth those little things with the sort of raffia-work base that has an attachment. At that time, a friend shall lose his friend’s hammer, and the young shall not know where lieth the things possessed by their fathers that their fathers put there only just the night before, about eight o’clock.

– Boring Prophet (in Life of Brian)

I’m still at it. Thanks for checking in.

6 thoughts on “Unplugging from the Internet (sort of) – Week One

  1. ‘On the other hand, I miss the online interactions and encouragement with friends, particularly from the Splinter4All bunch’…..Yes I can imagine, it’s such a great bunch of people for support and encouragement 🙂

  2. Pingback: Unplugged From Social Media: Day 44 | Lifein64SquareFeet.com - A Writer's Survival Blog

  3. Pingback: Unplugged From Social Media Update: Day 51– First World Problems | Lifein64SquareFeet.com - A Writer's Survival Blog

You were saying?

