NANOWRIMO Writing Marathon–Are You In?

Saturday, April 13, 2013 from 10 AM to 6 PM PST – Writers all over the world will be joining in the harmonious goal of writing for eight straight hours (or however many they can manage).  It’s the Nanowrimo Writing Marathon.

nano_13_marathon_header

This is like a mini-Nanowrimo (during Nanowrimo, the goal is to write 50k words in 30 days).  The goal here is two-fold: Raise money (through voluntary donations) for the non-profit organization that sponsors Nanowrimo every year, and encourage writers to…well, write.

There is also a drawing for various prizes like a Microsoft Surface and subscriptions to Writer Magazine.

I’ve blocked out my Saturday from 12PM to 8PM CST to work specifically on editing and revising Edit-red inka WIP, Find my Baby, which I wrote about here.  During that time, I am denying myself the usual distractions: No Facebook, Twitter or E-mail.  Just me and Microsoft Word… and maybe a quick hop to Wikipedia for fact-checking.

Of course, I could do this on my own, without a sponsored online event, but I dig being part of the experience.  I find it motivational, and Nanowrimo is a worthy cause I want to support. 

Are you in?

2 thoughts on “NANOWRIMO Writing Marathon–Are You In?

  1. I am planning in participating in that myself! I am also currently working on a story for Camp NaNo, so it for me will be just an extension of that, but who doesn’t like an excuse to say, oh I am sorry, I am busy writing! Oh no, this is an EVENT! *grins* yup, I am getting excited!

You were saying?

