WRITING CONTEST: Hook Me! Win a Very Cool CTRL+ALT+DEL coffee Cup set

When I started writing Undertaking Hartford, The very first line I wrote was:

These days, I find myself doing things I thought I would never do.

At the time, I hadn’t finished the outline and the story became many different things before I discovered what I really wanted to say, but that line was the inception. As I’m starting the redraft of Undertaking Hartford, a lot has changed but that line is still there.

The Challenge:  Write the opening of a story, starting with the opening line as:

These days, I find myself doing things I thought I would never do.

Keep it to less than 200 words.  This is just the opening of a story, not the entire story.  It can be about anything or in any genre.  The winner will be the one that I thought was most intriguing, original and made me want to read more.  One entry per person, please.

The winning entry will be published on www.lifein64squarefeet.com .

The Prize: CTRL+ALT+DEL (Three-Finger-Salute) coffee cup set.

  • Set of three cups
  • Black exterior with white interior
  • Sturdy plastic, dishwasher safe
  • Circuit-board etched tray for display
  • Each cup holds 8 ounces, suitable for hot or cold drinks (but not martinis)

e79b_ctrl-alt-del_cup_set

e79b_ctrl-alt-del_cup_set_table-1

These are pretty cool, and were a gift from a regular visitor to Life64 who wished to remain anonymous. Thank you very much.

Deadline:  All entries must be received before midnight CST,Friday, August 24, 2012.

Entries should be sent to: GrateRighter@hotmail.com and should include your name and a valid email address I can contact if you win, to get your mailing address.

Contest Disclaimer (legal crap)

No purchase necessary. One entry per person. Incomplete entries will be disqualified. Entries arriving after the contest ending date will be disqualified. Entries that do not include a mailing address will be disqualified. Contest entrants must be residents of the USA, Canada, England, Australia, Ireland or France.

Mitch Lavender is not responsible for lost, misdirected, or delayed entries. Entries received by telephone, fax, courier, or personal delivery will not be accepted. Personal information submitted will NOT be sold or made available to anyone outside of Life in Sixty-Four Square Feet staff. Prizes are not redeemable in cash and must be accepted as awarded. Decisions of the contest judge(s) are final – no substitutions will be available.

2 thoughts on “WRITING CONTEST: Hook Me! Win a Very Cool CTRL+ALT+DEL coffee Cup set

You were saying?

