Read Error [Abort, Retry, Ignore]

by Mitch Lavender

Last night, I had an intriguing thought. I know it was intriguing because I woke up and continued to ponder it until I fell asleep about two hours later. I remember what lulled me to sleep was that I had drawn a conclusion regarding the intriguing thing, and was quite happy with it. Then I woke up at 7 AM, went to work and now, it is 8 PM and I am home.

And I can’t remember what the intriguing thought was, nor do I recall the satisfying conclusion. That hacks me off because I recall it being, well, interesting to think about but more than that, I was quite pleased with my conclusion; that much I can remember. What pisses me off even more is that this is not the first time I have done this. Far from it.

I sometimes have very vivid dreams and surprisingly, they have a story arc. They are wacky, the way dreams tend to be, but I dream in three distinct acts and sometimes have a weird, fantastic finale at the end. I never write them down.

Just like I didn’t write down my intriguing thought last night. And all of these nocturnally conceived stories end the same – I forgot them. Some of them were really cool, or at least I think they were, when I was half-awake in the middle of the night. Maybe they were just goofy, but I can’t say for sure because I CAN’T REMEMBER THEM.

clip_image002I’m like the guy from Memento, trying to piece together fragments of information I have tattooed on my body. Except I’m not that cleverly tragic; I’m just sort of sad. The solution for my problem isn’t that hard.

Write it down while you still remember it.

How hard is it to put a pen and notebook by the bed and write down this crap after it fires off and is still fresh on my synapses? It may be complete junk, but at least I will be able to make that assessment when I am fully conscious.

It’s done – notebook and pen on the nightstand, next to the bed. Though I am so aggravated by not being able to remember the intriguing thing, I will have trouble getting to sleep, I’ll try to look forward and not dwell on missed possible opportunities.

G’night.

© Copyright 2012, Mitch Lavender

2 thoughts on “Read Error [Abort, Retry, Ignore]

  1. Come on, Mitch, I can’t believe you’re only getting to the ‘notebook beside the bed’ stage now. Where’ve you been, man? Some of our best ideas come during sleep, so I see it as imperative that they be documented before being cast to oblivion by the need to hit the toilet first thing in the morning. Have fun!

You were saying?

