The Stigma of Self-Publishing and FREE

Self-publishing has the stigma of FAIL about it.  It’s not as bad as the pre-eBook days with vanity presses, but it still doesn’t get 77788715[1]a lot of respect for readers or the writing community.  So, when I decided to self-publish a collection of short stories, Worth Writing About and Other Stories From the Edge, I figured it would not devalue it any further by making it free.  Maybe folks will actually give it a chance if they don’t have to pay for it.  I am doing it for the sake of self-promotion, anyway.  Free is usually a good incentive, IF the buyer thinks what he is getting is of any value.  Maybe some folks will.

So, I self-published on Smashwords.com and just yesterday, my eBook became available on Barnes and Noble’s eBook site!  It is also available on Kobo and Diesel, and will be available soon on Amazon, Sony and the Apple App Store.  I even have a hard-copy available from WordClay.com, but you have to actually pay money for a hard copy, so don’t do that.

Why should you bother to download and read this book? 

Let me count the ways:

  1. Reading a book will make you look sophisticated and literate.  It will impress ladies, employers and society at large.  That you read an E-book will also make them think you are tuned-in, intelligent and technical.
  2. It’s 6 short, easy to read stories.  Some of the stories are funny.  Some are inspiring.  One of the stories will make you question if I am sane.  Awesome?  Awe.some.
  3. It’s free.  ‘nuff said there.
  4. If you know me personally, you can hassle me endlessly about any grammatical errors or typos that made it into the finished product. 
  5. Downloading it will make the book’s ranking go up… and that’s fun for the whole family.
  6. It’s actually a pretty cool read if I do say so myself (with the exception of the one story that will make you wonder if I am insane).
  7. Six reasons should be enough for most  people.  If you need more, you expect too much for free.

How do you get this fabulous book that will increase your popularity, make you look 20 lbs. lighter and cause the sun shine on the gloomiest of days?  It’s available for free from these sites:

 BARNES and NOBLE.

Kobo Books.

Multiple formats available (PDF, HTML, Epub, Mobi, RTF, TXT)  on SmashWords.

And it’s coming to Apple, Sony and Amazon in a few weeks.

And then… when I get one of my books published for real, well.  You can buy it.  But this one will always be FREE.

You were saying?

